About searching

Only of the type(s)

GoRaleigh Transit Wins Two Statewide Awards

The City of Raleigh’s Public Transit System, GoRaleigh, won two statewide awards: North Carolina’s Transit System of the Year Award and Driver of the Year Award, presented by the North Carolina Public Transportation Association (NCPTA).

The Transit System of the Year Award is given to a transit system that best represents the public transportation industry. It recognizes promoting mobility and removing barriers that cause isolation; and promoting economic growth while providing safe, efficient, and reliable services.

2023 transit accomplishments include:

•    RDOT-Transit set the goal that the bus fleet would be 70 percent zero or near zero emissions by 2023. This goal has been accomplished with 76 compressed natural gas (CNG) buses and five electric buses in the fleet.
•    Transit's communications group launched a new campaign to gain ridership called “Busopoly” and were invited to present at the American Public Transportation Association marketing conference. 
•    The RDOT-Transit Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Program had a highly successful 2023 including: 
o    The Southern Corridor project received an overall "Medium-High" rating from the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). 
o    The Southern Corridor project also received $85.91 million in funding from the FTA on March 9, 2023.
•    54 upgrades at bus stops were completed.

The Driver of the Year Award honors a public transit driver who has championed the goals, services, and cause of public transportation in North Carolina through their service to the community and their local transit system.

Bruce Holloway won the Driver of the Year Award, his accomplishment include:

•    He completed 33 years of service. 
•    He received a million-mile Safe Driving Award for no preventable accidents. 
•    Has 10 plus years of perfect attendance as an operator.  
•    Has 10 plus years of receiving zero customer complaints.
•    Won the First Place Trophy in the North Carolina State annual bus roadeo three times.

Winners were selected by an independent evaluation committee chaired by the NCPTA Executive Director and comprised of media and trade association professionals.